January 7, 2010

The Gatehouse at Forest Hills Cemetery

The Gatehouse, located along the majestic drive from Morton Street (Route 203) known as Forest Hills Avenue, was designed by Gridley J. Fox Bryant (1816-1899) and Louis P. Rogers (1838-1905) and built in 1868 adjacent to a secondary entrance to the cemetery.

A charming two-story Gothic Revival cottage, it is built of Roxbury puddingstone and buff sandstone with a steeply pitched dormered roof with bands of red and black slate. Built as the gatekeeper’s residence, it is today leased by the trustees of the cemetery as a private residence.

No comments: